The current mood of Lochinvar at www.imood.com

I may be a bit of a jew.

06.08.02 - 8:27 a.m.

So. My first visit to temple being last night.

It was beautiful. Jewish months begin with the new moon (how terribly sensible is that!), and they try to do a special service, nothing but singing, the friday before. It was all in hebrew, but I understood more of it than I'd have thought, perhaps.

I still have one of the chants, though, running through my mind, and the niggun the rabbi chanted to give everybody the air.

The congragation makes harmony without thinking twice about it. They just do. And so did I.

So I am going back next friday, and hopefully, next shabbat morning.

The Rabbi was very nice, and so were the people I spoke to. He says I should just come as often as I can to the services, and see what I can learn. I think this is wonderful. He's going to Israel in a couple of weeks, but maybe after that, or with the reform temple across town, I can see more about converting.

After welcoming Sabbath the Bride to the world, I'm a little sad to be going to my Board meeting and then to work, but I have my torah and my hebrew primer, and I can do what Moshe Katan did-- take an hour each day until I can have a real Sabbath.

If demands of housework and all don't prevent that. But it's written that we should persue peace, and fulfill the mitzvot-- that is to say, the commandments etcetera, when the opportunities are prevented. So, for the sake of peace in the house, with all respect, the Sabbath may be postponed.

Yeah, I'm scaring myself too.

<<agé chose>>

0 comments.notation.profile.DW.Quois.Lochinvar.smut.Tambourin.DiaryLand.DeadNazi