The current mood of Lochinvar at www.imood.com

waving fists and snide commentary.

02.19.03 - 10:19 p.m.

I think my favorite anti-war protest is the gentleman from Hillsboro at the Raleigh Event, who carried a bucket, a star-spangled banner, and a sign which read: "We come not to burn the flag, but to wash it."

And cheers to the forty-odd pro-war demonstrators at the Raleigh Rally (say that three times fast). Free speech is a beautiful thing, isn't it?

Cheers to the people who thanked the cops for protecting them, and the mayor for giving the administrative parade permit.

I was not at the Rally. I was working.

So. Rabbit's opinion of The War.

In general, I agree with the idea of war vs. terrorism, of not being blown up by nukes, and of not letting madmen develop them. I think Saddamn Hussein is a sadistic despot who needs to be unseated. However.

I also think that George W. Bush is not the general to defeat him. His handling of both Iraq and North Korea is pitiful, his methods of dissimenating information to the public crude and offensive, and his rhetoric hypocritical. I do not feel comfortable watching a madman threatening nuclear war denounce a madman who may be secretly developing nukes.

Kids, what about depleted uranium weapons in the gulf war? And the front-destroying short-range radioactive weaopns India and Pakistan have been using? Nukes kill /our/ troops, and civilians alike. Yes, we want to free the iraqi people from their tyrrany. But there has to be an Iraqi people left to free, god dammit. Screw public opinion, screw the fact that Dubya cannot raise the public spirit like Daddy could, you can't liberate a corpse.

to sum up: Yes Saddam is Evil. He ignores his people's needs to focus on profit making and warmongering. Convince me-- please convince me-- that Geroge W. Bush is so much better, practically.

(No, Bush hasn't had his own citizens slaughtered yet. I'm hesitant to give him time.)

<<agé chose>>

0 comments.notation.profile.DW.Quois.Lochinvar.smut.Tambourin.DiaryLand.DeadNazi