The current mood of Lochinvar at www.imood.com

waiting for godot at the ESC office.

03.13.02 - 3:48 p.m.

So we went to file for unemployment today. They are giving me 106 sickly-sweet dollars a week, which is just enough to die a little more slowly.

I am allowed to make $21 a week, approximately, before they start taking it out of the unemployment checks, which means a grand total of about $500 a month, max. So if I want to be off unemployment, I must find a job that makes more than that.

I want my old job back. I made /twice/ that.

For those of you just joining us, I am, truly, unemployed through "no fault of my own" as the unemployment security commission calls it. I was laid off. The project I was working on slows down too much in the summer to merit a full time clerical staff.

Oh well.

So there was 3+ hours of sitting around, bored and humiliated, in the unemployment office today. I stared at the army recruiting pamphlet center with first revulsion, then with increasing interest as time wore on. Finally, I wound up reading them. For 2 years commitment (and celibacy) and Basic, I could get $26,000 for school, and linguistics training. I could be a diplomat or a cryptographer in this whole 'Army of One'.

I was tempted. Sorely. Almost desperately. I could serve my country and not worry about applying, midterms, or any of that shite. OrI could go to school concurrently and the army'd pay for it. Run home to the arms of Uncle Sam. Take my hand, lord Jesus.

So what if i'm on the board of an LGBT lobbying orginisation. I'm 20! they won't ask if I don't tell, right?

Right?

*sigh* After all my diatribes about how I will /not/ be a soldier this life. Take it as a measure of my desperation. And I'm considering the /Army/ too-- not the Navy, Air Force or Marines. The Army.

Eep. I put that in the present tense, didn't I? I'll get over it, I swear.

*salutes, clicks heels*

but at least we went after, had good comforting food, and I got a pretty dress at the salvation army for $3.

And the English invaded yesterday. Maybe that's why I'm feeling so military.

<<agé chose>>

0 comments.notation.profile.DW.Quois.Lochinvar.smut.Tambourin.DiaryLand.DeadNazi