The current mood of Lochinvar at www.imood.com

I hated that job anyway.

2001-06-19 - 12:16 p.m.

In honor of creative unemployment...

i lost the first half of this... the backstory is that Caudelac has been seeing this tenor, Nicolas LeCouer; who unfortunately has been previously persued by a nasty englishman named Saint-John, who has a habit of beating him up for talking to other boys. In a presumptive effort to make nice, Cau was invited by Nic to a dinner at S-J's place... smelling a rat, the ever-so-thoughtful Charles-Pierre decided to invite along his good friends, M. le Compte Honore Charles Reille and the former actress, Ida St-Elme, "La Contemporarie". So far, it's been... well, the woman sitting next to Nicolas, who Cau knows as an actress in his company, was introduced as his wife. And Cau's Boss, M. le prefet- (in this universe, he's a police capitan- there are rp logistics, really) was invited too. So it's terse. but there /is/ liquor...

***

S-J: So tell me, M. Caudelac, do you like it in Paris?

Nic: *to Honore* No need to thank me Sir. It's my pleasure

Honore: *takes part in conversations with Nic, the prefect, etc. gladly.*

Madame: scoots her chair a bit closer to Charles*

Cau: "I do, indeed."

S-J *runs a hand through his hair* How about Nicolas? *whispers it so the prefect doesn't hear it*

Nic: It's a very good musical. I just need to rehearse some things tomorrow and saturday and I'll be all ready *swallows* I hope

Caudelac: "how about him?" He replies cooly.

Honore: "i'm sure it will be excellent, M. Le Couer." to the prefect. "It's very nice to see you again, M-- (your char, your name- but Honore is currently a head inspector for the Army, so it is very likely they know each other)

citoyen_chauvelin: (Name Armand de Chevalier)

Nic: Thank you Sir but I'm not so sure. I still have some difficulties *sighs and takes another sip*

Armand: *bows head to Honore* Very nice indeed M'sieur Honore

S-J: Do you care for him?

rabsiquinn: (*clears throat* M. le compte.)

Honore: *Occupies prefect in talk of some obscure matters of policy.*

Caudelac: "Do you?"

S-J: I love him M'sieur and if you do too. You'll leave him alone and leave Paris.

Armand: *is occupied*

Nic: *watches S-J and Charles. Then he turns to Chantal and she gives him a kiss because she sees how worried he is and she wants to help him relax*

Caudelac: It seems to me that his buisiness with me is his. And his choice; M'sieur.

Madame: *doubts highly that that will relax that poor boy... she smiles warmly a the couple.* "I myself am a theatre Vetran... i've seen your work, Madame LeCouer. The Modern theatre is a bit..." she smiles meaningfully, "well, you know, but i have rather enjoyed the shows i have seen."

Chantal: *she smiles and nods* Ah yes. I knew your name sounded familair to me Madame and now I remember from where.

S-J: In a moment Caudelac you'll lose your job and everyone will know about you. If Nic is seen in your presence the suspicions people have will become believed and he'll get in trouble. *s* And now do you honestly think he'll choose you above his career? *laughs* If you do, you're insane for he never will.

Chantal: May I ask what shows you've seen?

Caudelac: *Cooly.* You think so? I'll see your prefect and raise you one Comte. I think mine outranks yours.

Madame: She rattles out several shows, from Notre dame to les mis to several other casts and tours et al.

S-J: But you'll lose Nicolas

Chantal: You've almost seen them all *is impressed*

S-J: and most of all your Comte has no business here

rabsiquinn: *thinks that Honore would agree wholeheartedly*

Caudelac: "will i? He has as much business here as your prefect."

Madame: "Well, i do love to get out."

S-J: *laughs* We'll see but I'd start packing if I were you and leave Nicolas alone, understood?

Chantal: It's an honor Madame to have you come to our shows. If only I had known *smiles at Nicolas* Isn't it great love?

Nic: *nods and just keeps drinking*

Armand: *frowns at S-J* Something wrong?

Caudelac: "leave paris? you must be out of your mind."

Elza: "you flatter, Madame."

Honore: *Absently mentions a rather interesting piece of policy regarding intrapersonal relationships in the gendarme passed recently by the Chief staff inspector of the Army and his own department..*

S-J: I've never been more serious *to Armand* No my friend. Nothing is wrong except eum since when does the police force let people like him in charge?

Armand: *rhe* People like him? *looks at Charles* What is he talking about?

Chantal: Please. Call me Chantal and this is Nicolas *s* There is no need for all these formalities

Armand: *nods to Honore* Mhmm I have heard of that *turns his attention back to S-J and Charles* Well..? Someone please enlighten me. *he heard only half of what Honore said, too curious to focus on something else at the moment*

Elza: "And you must call me Ida." *She smiles, but is also a bit distracted.*

Caudelac: "People like who, M. St-John?"

S-J: Like you.

Chantal: Nice meeting you Ida *stares at Charles and S-J and the others. Then at Nicolas, who's close to being very drunk*

S-J: You don't belong with the police or anywhere else for that matter. *s* Your kind is not needed here

Caudelac: MY kind, Miseu Saint-John. Just exactly who do you think you are talking to? And who are you to speak; he who invited myself to his house?

Elza: *sighs, taps her fan.*

S-J: Someone that is worse than the scum of the streets M'sieur and I invited on request of Nicolas

Caudelac: *smiles slowly* Really? I have got to hear this.

Armand: *sighs, not understanding this change of mood* Hear what?

Honore: *shakes his head and sips his newly refreshed glass*

S-J: *chuckles. To the prefect* Is this what you want in charge of the safety of your city Armand? *turns to him* Some freak

Armand: *raises his eyebrows more, definately confused*

Caudelac: *raises eyebrows* Certainly an interesting way to regard one's company.

Armand: *looks at Madame* Do you know what's going on here?

Elza: I am as clueless as you, M. le Prefect.

Honore: *Remains stonily silent, eyes half closed, watching everything*

Armand: Alright *sighs* S-J *gets up* Your office, now *leaves, expecting S-J to follow him and S-J does so. Because he knows better than not following an order from the Prefect*

Nic: *shakes his head and just drinks his worry and pain away*

Elza: Charles...

Caudelac: What!?

Elza: The parlor, NOW.

Caudelac: *Follows her, cause he knows better than not to follow an order from Madame. Even if Honore was his immediate superior.*

citoyen_chauvelin: (lol)

Nic: *leans back in his chair and seeks comfort in Chantal's arms* Oh God *is close to tears*

Honore: stares blankly at the couple. Rather slowly. "Are you alright, M. LeCouer?"

Nic: I wish I was dead

Honore: As far as i know, there's little advantage to it.

Nic: I won't get beat up there

Chantal: *strokes his hair softly but remains silent as she doesn't know what to say*

Honore: *mutters* that's what you think. *stands* "Listen. Charles has gotten out of worse than this before. Trust me. He told us about... *trails off.* i'm sorry, Madame.

Chantal: Sorry? For what M'sieur?

Nic: *ignoring her* About?

Honore: *searches, finally* "...How M. St John treats you."

Nic: That's not your concern nor is it his

Honore: "it seems to have you both rather upset."

Nic: I'm not upset. J-just not looking forward to it

Honore: I imagine not. I feel terribly awkward, M. LeCouer...

Nic: Why is that and please call me Nicolas

Honore: Allright... Charles is one of my best friends. What's the meaning of all of this tonight?

Nic: S-J hates his guts and wants him away. I think you saw that too *finishes another glass of wine*

Honore: And what's your role in this?

Nic: I don't know anymore

Armand: *returns, not happy*

Honore: it seems to me that niether of them have a right to any sort of role that you don't give them, Nicolas; argue how they will. And i'm not about to sit by and watch my friend lose his job over such a rediculous thing. You can count on that... if he falls; who brought him down will come shortly after. *turns to the prefect, who probably caught the last of that.*

Armand: Is that a threat M'sieur Le Comte?

Honore: not anything that you need be concerned with i'm sure, M. le Prefect.

Armand: Good for I don't respond well to threats and now lets enjoy this meal *sits down* then I'll deal with... *sighs* it later. *sees that the food is served and calmly he starts eating*

S-J: *also comes back, sits down and eats. A satisfied grin on his face*

Nic: *has lost his appetite and just drinks*

Chantal: *getting worried about Nicolas*

Elza: *Returns.*

Caudelac: *Follows, looking somewhat chastened. They sit.*

S-J: *laughs at the sight of Charles* So. The nerve to come back, h�? How noble of you

Honore: *sits also, thinks what a cheery occasion this has turned out to be. He'd tear Charles a new one later; but imagines that Ida's already done it well enough.*

Caudelac: Thank you. *smiles*

Armand: *shakes his head and continues with his meal* Enough both of you *glares at them* Next time you invite me over to celebrate my birthday S-J, don't. This has turned out to be a very unpleasant day *glares only at Charles now*

Caudelac: Your birthday? *raises his eyebrows* Many happy returns, M. de Chavalier.

Armand: Give it a rest Caudelac. We'll talk later.

Caudelac: Yes Sir. *eats placidly*

Armand: *continues and after a while he's done and shuffs his plate away*

rabsiquinn: *they all finish eating, in their time*

Armand: Lets get this over with shall we?

Caudelac: Let's.

Armand: I want you out of your office by tomorrow afternoon *gets up* You're fired

Caudelac: *nods*

Honore: Not for long he isn't.

Armand: What will you do, hmm?

Honore: Intercede. He's still a loyal and, if anyone is going to go lodging accusations against Caudelac, they had better have some rather substantial proof.

Armand: We'll find some. But he stays fired, no matter what.

Honore: We'll see. I'm interested to see that you, M. Le prefect, would take the word of this painted English fob over a vetran who has done long and loyal service to the crown for years, and over my own. You will have a time justifying your action, should it come to be challanged. I would thank you for your hospitality, M. Sin-jihn; save i have percived none this evening. Bonsoir. *he stands, as does Madame and Charles. The latter shrugs at the room.*

Caudelac: "M. Armand, it is one and the same to me. I've done my job and not complained, though to tell you the truth; i care about as much for it as i do for M. St John here, who has invited me soley for the purpouse of this harangue against my reputation. Bad taste and bad form; for a matter that is so very trifiling to all save himself, and i.

Armand: Au revoir M'sieur Caudelac. We'll see eachother for the last time tomorrow

Chantal: *gets up* We better go too *helps Nicolas who is terrible shape and he can bearily stand. Then she walks out with him, not paying attention to anyone there except her friend*

Caudelac: Au revoir. *bows to assembled, and leaves with the others.*

Elza: *once they're in the street* Well. That was exhilirating. Was that Entirely necessary, Charles?

Nic: *whispers as Charles passes by* I'm sorry

Caudelac: *ignores them. To Chantal, outside* have you got him all right?

Chantal: *holds Nicolas* He's getting rather heavy but I think I can manage. Unless you want some time alone with him. Although he won't much use now *looks at Nicolas in her arms*

Caudelac: *smiles* petit, i Hated that job, and i've money and connections. I'll be fine. *to Chantal* "we can give you both a ride... i would like to sure that he is all right."

Honore: *blinks and nods*

Elza: *shakes her head with a chuckle* Charles Pierre, you're trouble on horseback.

Chantal: Well I don't want to leave him alone either but the baby sitter is waiting for me. *glares at Madame*

Nic: I shouldn't h.. *coughs, feeling very sick* have asked you to come

Caudelac: *looks wan* With good reason. I hate horses. Shall we then?

Honore: opens the door to the Fiacre so that Charles and Chantal can get Nicolas inside.

Chantal: *laughs and tries to get Nic in the fiacre*

Caudelac: *assists*

Honore: *Stands out of the way to give them more room.*

Caudelac: *to Nic* Shh... do not fret, petit. it is fine.

Chantal: Nicolas are you alright *notices he's rather pale*

Nic: N..no. It's not. I *coughs some more* should've known he was up to something

Caudelac: It is why i asked Madame and Count Reille to come. do not worry.

Honore and Madame: *enter also, and close the carriage door.*

Nic: *snuggles in Chantal's arms* W..what will you do now? *wishes it was Charles though*

Caudelac: *smiles, and lays a hand on Nic's head. "Retire. Become a parton of the arts, perhaps."

Nic: *weakly takes his hand and kisses it* You can stay w..with me if you want to. Th..that is

Caudelac: I do.

Nic: *lifts his head* You do?

Caudelac: of course. would you want to live with me, is the question? I have horrible bad habits, and i am a terrible grouch in the mornings. And... it is your decision, petit. but yes, i do.

Nic: I love you Charles and all I need to know is..d..do you love me

Caudelac: yes, yes, God and devils yes.

Nic: *smiles and pulls him in his arms* Then yes. I want you to stay with me forever

Caudelac: *returns the embrace* "As long as life allows." *glares at Madame and Honore, DARING them to say something.*

Madame and Honore: *are very, very interested in something out the window somewhere, far away.*

Nic: *thinks as he holds him and he sighs*

rabsiquinn: (they are mercilessly adorable, my dear, but i have to sleep... train to catch and all.)

citoyen_chauvelin: (I need sleep too. Already eight here so bye and have fun at the choo choo

rabsiquinn: (shalom, cherie!)

citoyen_chauvelin: Night

***

And that was enough of that.

<<agé chose>>

0 comments.notation.profile.DW.Quois.Lochinvar.smut.Tambourin.DiaryLand.DeadNazi