The current mood of Lochinvar at www.imood.com

Christine Daae has returned to you...

07.13.02 - 2:50 p.m.

I have that stuck in my head.

Just finished Ender's Shadow, which book made me think of E., for various reasons. One is that the character of Achilles in it is verily like /her/ version of the Greek Achilles. And the fact that that character is swamped out by the heroes, who are very, verily interesting.

It's the Sabbath, and I feel like writing. Yes, I skipped temple again, but I read Torah and the corresponding Haftorah. Ah, it's just after the story of balaam, which is facinating, read in context, with commentary.

I don't understand how anyone could read and try to make sense of torah, without haftorah and the analyses of the Rabbis. It's too dense, without the historical context, the accompanying traditions. It clarifies so very much! And the interpretations vary so from Rabbi to Rabbi, depending.

And the beautiful thing is, all are considered with solemnity, because the kohanim have authority to answer such questions. My favorite stories, are all about Rabbi Akiva, Rabbi Loew, and Moses ben Mamionides.

Trying to decide if I should flirt with bankruptcy via my amazon.com wishlist, or if I should use the money for food.

Ah, survival, vs. Piety.

<<agé chose>>

0 comments.notation.profile.DW.Quois.Lochinvar.smut.Tambourin.DiaryLand.DeadNazi