The current mood of Lochinvar at www.imood.com

the first night of school

2001-08-20 - 12:06 p.m.

Would be tonight. This makes my head swim, among other things. Sorry, sorry, there seems to be a short circut between my brain and my fingers that is preventing me from coherent communication.

Thanks to her livejournal entries, I now have 'Always something there to remind me' stuck in my head. And thanks to hers, I have Anna Karenina open on my lap. It's a Tolstoy thing. But I am glad I'm not the only one corrupted by the Sims. Nor the only one tempted to use it to torture poor Enjolratti and Grantaires. Heh.

You see, direct communication is not always necessary for love of peoples. It's amazing what lingering influences can be worth.

*polishes her sword and old livery*

But never mind that. Today, I am offically Stepping Onto The Path to teacherhood. Yes, yes, it's true. Rabbit is going to be a teacher someday, dedicated to convincing little children that Plato and Socrates are not 'Dead White Men'. Actually, greeks are rather swarthy, non?

Some of it is a genetic history. How do you teach a child whose genetic history jumps from stone/iron/agricultural age technology directly to the nuclear about 'foreign' tactics and pasts? between tribal life, slavery, emancipation and now, industrialisation is merely a blip on the road map of the history of the american black. Most of us aren't decended from moors and egyptians, have no cultural memmory of algebra or greece; we went directly from ancesteral voices and four-death wars (with a possible Islamic bent; we're talking the western cultures here) to Jesus Christ; divine interventions and the massacres of the American civil war. Followed hard upon by WWI and WWII. You want culture shock? How do you teach History to a people who have been ostracised or who have ostracised themselves from that of their-- now-- native land? Like it or not, these blacks, and these hispanics-- are whole-blooded Americans, as mich so as the varigated blands of european mash that tend to refer to themselves as 'white'. Please. Irish blood in a frenchman or an italian or a german is as much a pollutant to the so-called racial purity as african. Save the african can rarely even trace his linage far enough back to a specific region small as an ireland or a france.

Human race aside, every group of people that has shared a particular government or ruler shares a history. And it's damn hard to interest someone in a history they consider as having nothing to do with them. What one must needs realise is that one is currently living in a world and country who does possess that old history, and, as one's countrymen in america are those of the entire world, the history of the entire world is your own. We are as much the victim of the poppy as the ship that brought it, the molasses, the rum, and the slaves, so to speak. How many mistakes /can/ one repeat by ignoring this?

How can I get them to find Julius Cesar and Arrian and Caligula and Robespierre and Woodrow Wilson relevant to now and L'aviner?

Well, that is what I hope I shall find out, eventually through this phenomenon of schooling.

Oh, I hope you don't think that I am forgetting the white children in my fretting. The absolute worst offenders are often among their number.

'That was then, this is now', hm?

So, child, tell me... what was then?

When you can answer that, then you shall know what this 'now' thing is.

Good God, don't think I pretend to.

-siné.

<<agé chose>>

0 comments.notation.profile.DW.Quois.Lochinvar.smut.Tambourin.DiaryLand.DeadNazi